Adolescent fear and anxieties~

On Monday, I start my first day at my internship. There are of course some anxieties since attending my internship means being able to balance my studies for the first month, together with rushing from school during Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays to get from Ateneo to near Tomas Morato. Close but at the same time distant, I have to rely on either my driver getting me there, or commuting on my own. My anxieties are of course lessened by the fact that a few houses away from the condominium where our offce is, is my aunt’s house. Basically, if I have any problems of some sort, I can go to my aunt and uncle for help. Still, the fear of being in a state of “work” is worrying me because it is technically something I have never involved myself in. Extra-curricular work is something I’ve always been involved in since elementary, but work is a whole different matter.

In some way, I am glad I am doing what I am doing now. Involving myself in what I love is the best kind of work yet. As Confucius puts it, when you love what you do, you never have to work a day in your life. There are so many opportunities out there that involve my talents and intersts, but sadly one cannot involve themselves in everything so choosing what is best for oneself is important.

Seriously speaking, I worry about what awaits me, but at the same time, I am very excited as well. I really expect to learn so many things from this opportunity, and I hope to contribute something to it as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

